Latest NewsFeatured Articles

Watson and Burns pick up awards

5th February 2013 21:55, in Cricket News

Team GM Stars Shane Watson and Joe Burns both picked up major accolades at last night’s Allan Border Medal function, winning Australia’s Twenty20 Player of the Year and the Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year award, respectively.

Shane Watson | 2013 T20 Player of the Year

Australia's Vice-captain, Watson was last night named Australia's Twenty20 International cricketer of the year for a second straight time, after a stunning 12 months which included four man of the match awards in a row at last year’s World Twenty20 campaign in Sri Lanka.

Watson, ranked No.4 in the ICC's list of Twenty20 batsmen and top for all-rounders, made 249 runs (highest run-scorer) at an average of 498 for the tournament, as well as 11 wickets (highest wicket-taker) at 16 with his now-dormant seamers. Almost half of his 34 boundaries were sixes - he struck 15 across six matches - giving him a strike rate of 150 for the tournament, which convincingly earn't him Player of the Tournament.

The Allan Border Medal night has always been kind to GM’s star batsman, having picked up at least one award since 2010.

Allan Border Medallist 2010 | 2011
Test Player of the Year 2011
ODI Player of the Year 2010 | 2011 | 2012
T20 Player of the Year 2012 | 2013

Young Brisbane opening batsman, Joe Burns, meanwhile was convincingly voted the Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year. Burns, who was included on the Australia “A” tour of England last year, and who played a staring role in Brisbane Heat’s title-winning campaign in the Big Bash League, is quickly making a name for himself within cricketing circles.